2015 Season Summary

Posted by Craig on January 18th, 2016

2015 was another great season for North Cave Cricket Club. The Club won the HPH York Vale Cricket League title for the 3rd time in four years, by going unbeaten throughout the season. It was a fitting end to the club’s time in the York Vale League, as we are moving to the Hunters York & District Senior Cricket League Division 2 East for the 2016 campaign. The Howdenshire Evening League side also won the Mortimer Cup.

In the HPH York Vale League the season got off to a damp start with the opening match at home to Kelfield being abandoned after 16 overs due to rain. The following week away at Ben Johnson, Mike Stellings hit 61 runs and took 3 for 11 in an 88 run win. At home to Melbourne, Captain James Windeatt’s 89, helped Cave to 207 before Stellings again took 4 for 36 to see Cave to a 118 run victory. Stockton & Hopgrove were bowled out for 76, with Windeatt and John Buttle sharing 7 wickets, in a 6 wicket win. Fulfordgate came to Cave and were dismissed for 112 by Windeatt’s 5 for 10 before Charlie Cockin (65 not out) and Stellings (40 not out) saw Cave home by 9 wickets. A defining moment of the season came at Ovington, where the home side amassed 243 for 6. At 144 for 8 Cave looked defeat in the face, but then an amazing innings of 151 not out from A. J. Clarke took Cave to an unlikely 1-wicket victory. Burn were brushed aside as Jonathan Tomlinson (5 for 35) and Will Ferguson (44 not out) starred. Cave struggled to a 3 wicket win at North Duffield as Mike Stellings again was the hero, with 4 for 31 and then a calm 51 not out to see Cave home as wickets fell at the other end. In the top of the table clash at Bishopthorpe, Stellings (3 for 17) and Chris Short (4 for 18) restricted the home side to 73 all out. A superb 58 not out from Will Ferguson saw Cave to an important win, which took them to the top of the League. At Kelfield 4 for 18 from John Buttle restricted the home side to 169 and then 81 from Damian Sharp saw Cave home. Ben Johnson was next to visit Cave and unbeaten centuries from Mike Stellings (105 not out) and Will Ferguson (110 not out) helped Cave to a massive 315 for 2 from their 40 overs. Ben Johnson reached 197 in a high scoring game. At Melbourne, Stellings took 5 for 31 and 35 not out, as he and Charlie Cockin helped Cave cruise to a 9-wicket win. Stockton & Hopgrove came to Cave with 9 men and were bowled out for 50. Simon Cooke’s belligerent 38 not out saw Cave to victory in 7 overs. At Fulfordgate the home side made 160, but another match winning innings from A. J. Clarke (51 not out) saw Cave home by 4 wickets. Ovington made 144 for 8 at Cave with A. J. Clarke and Jonathan Tomlinson taking 3 wickets each. Will Ferguson (51 not out) and a quick-fire 40 from Simon Cooke won the day. At Burn, John Buttle 4 for 15 restricted the home side to 120 all out. Mike Stellings (52 not out) and Craig Hewson (38) reached the target with ease. Cave beat North Duffield by 10 wickets with Karl Youngman (4 for 27) helping dismiss them for 70. Charlie Cockin (36 not out) and Damian Sharp (31 not out) easily saw Cave to a 10 wicket win and with Bishopthorpe losing Cave were crowned Champions. The final match was at home to second place Bishopthorpe, who were bowled out for 92, with Mike Stellings (5 for 25) and James Windeatt (3 for 35) doing the damage. Cave struggled in reply until Captain Windeatt hit 31 not out, with the tail, to see Cave to a nervy 1 wicket win and maintain their unbeaten season. It was a great all around season for Mike Stellings who won the York Vale League Division 1 batting and bowling awards and also the award for the most wickets in the League.

In the HPH Cup Cave beat local rivals South Cave at home by 8 wickets chasing down 85 and then won away at Ben Johnson in the 2nd round by 128 runs. In the Semi-Final Cave lost a tight match away at Bishopthorpe by 5 wickets.

The Triad Howdenshire Evening League side had an inconsistent league campaign finishing 3rd behind HICE and North Ferriby in the East Division. Highlights included, Jack Storey scoring 132 not out at South Cave in the opening match and then 30 not out sharing an unbeaten opening stand of 77 with James Windeatt (43 not out) in beating North Ferriby by 10 wickets. Storey then hit 56 at home to South Cave in a 65 run win and 60 in defeat away to Ferriby. At South Cave in June, Storey (100 not out) and Captain James Windeatt (101 not out) both hit undefeated centuries in an opening stand of 222 for an 88 run win. In the Mortimer Cup, Cave beat North Duffield by 7 wickets in the 1st round. Karl Youngman (4 for 10) and Ashley Page (3 for 18) dismissing Duffield for 66. Jack Storey hit 54 not out in 9 overs to win. The semi-final saw the visit of HICE. 2 wickets each for Mike Stellings, James Windeatt and Karl Youngman restricted HICE to 110 fro 8. Storey (62 not out) with support from Charlie Cockin (29) eased Cave to victory. In the Final at Hemingbrough, Cave met North Ferriby. James Windeatt (35) and Matt Wilkinson (37) helped Cave reach 133 for 8 in their 20 overs. Ferriby started well, but tight bowling from Mike Stellings and 3 wickets from Jack Storey gave Cave the trophy.

Mike Stellings was the Player of the Year, winning both the Saturday Batting award hitting 545 runs at an average of 60.56 and the Bowling award taking 49 wickets at 9.57. Jack Storey won the Evening batting award with 550 runs at 91.67 and Ashley Page took the Bowling award with 15 wickets at 10.20. Jack Storey hit the most sixes with 29, while James Windeatt led the way with 25 catches during the season.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank our principle sponsor for this season, Cranswick plc and the contributions from Brockelsby Ltd, Humberside Aggregates Ltd, Wolds Engineering Services Ltd and D3 Office Group over the last couple of years. I would also like to thank everyone that has helped during the season with the ground, teas, etc. It is the time and effort put in by all these people that make our success possible.

We are now taking a well-earned rest before we start our indoor nets in the New Year. Then we begin a new era in a new League and hopefully, it will be the start of more success for the club.